top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEvelline Andrya

Getting Lost at Bologna Children's Book Fair 2017


April 2017, I packed my 2 suitcases, one of them were full with my printed portfolios, postcards, posters, business cards, also some of my children's books, and flew away 6,785 miles from my home in Jakarta to Bologna, Italy, to attend the Bologna Children's Book Fair, the biggest market for children's book industry. I went to Bologna with my younger sister who lives in Dubai. I was in doubt to go to Italy that time, but she convinced me and supported me that I need to go, that I will not regret the experience of attending that annual fair. Turns out, she was right.


This fair was HUUGGEEE! And without a map, I could end up getting lost, literally.

But thank God, there were maps of the venue in the entrance that we can take to explore the fair. There are also schedule and information for the 4 days events. There were a lot of conferences, workshops, exhibitions, and portfolio presentations.


In the fair, I got an opportunity to do the drawing shows at Indonesia's booth, my country, where selected Indonesian publishers also showing off their best published children's books. I was lucky! My drawing shows were in day 1,2, and 3 around 10 AM-1 PM. I did some drawings and chit chat with guests.




One of my illustration also popped up as a banner in the corner front of the booth!

Here are me and my sister!



In the fair, there was also a wall for illustrators to stick their postcards, business cards, posters, or whatever their creations that show off their artworks named Illustrator's Wall. But it's not only on the wall, but also on the doors, the elevator, or on any surfaces they could find! Hahaha hilarous! But that was cool! I mean it, it was chaotic cool masterpiece made by illustrators! I put mine too on the wall.


My postcards on the wall. I still use pastels that time to create illustrations.


If you have an opportunity to go to this book fair, just go, but make sure you're prepared. Because it's a good chance to show off your talent.


Here are some tips I can give to help you prepare for the fair:

  1. Create postcards, business cards, and posters to bring to the fair. It will be a good investment for your self promotions.

  2. Wear comfy yet professional outfits. The fair is usually in Spring season, and it's still very cold in Bologna. You might need jacket, jeans or trousers, boots (I prefer low heel boots), shawls.

  3. Use cabin suitcase to pack all your promotion stuff to the fair.

  4. Have a proper breakfast before going to the fair. And I suggest you to bring some food and water. There are cafetarias in the fair but you might not want to spent too much time to wait in the long line queuing just for food and drink.

  5. Take the map in the entrance, and take some time to learn about the programmes and schedules. You can mark the schedules or make a reminder in your phone. Choose what you want to attend and make sure you're on the venue on time. So you won't missed it.

  6. Try to find the publishers who conduct potfolio showcase. Make sure you come up in the right time, because they just provide limited time.

  7. Stick your posters, postcards, or business cards on the Illustrator's Wall at the first day, the wall still empty and you can choose the good spot so your promotion stuff will be more exposed. Plus, your stuff will be there for 4 days at the event so it will get more exposure.

  8. Take pictures and have fun! Good luck!





56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page